© Joni-Louka Bers

 

TSEKAN

2016
_

And if our visions of the  future are rather echoes of a past long gone?

In the not-too-distant future, a giant, turtle-shaped starship lands on Earth. Nanabush, creator of Turtle Island, appears to remind us that the coming times will be critical for the survival of the human species. Indigenous peoples have been prophesying about this for a long, long time. What kind of future awaits us? If any exists at all?

Tsekan is part of a cycle of creation initiated in 2013, for recompose at the Phenomena Festival in Montreal. Divided into thirteen scenes, which mirror the thirteen moons in a year, the concept of time and space in Tsekan is inspired by the lunar cycle. The boundaries between past, present, and future are continually blurred.

Combining poetry, indigenous languages and technology, Tsekan offers a dream-like vision of what is at stake in today’s world. Projections skillfully overlaid on an ingenious set design reinforce the breadth of the performance, plunging the spectators into a timeless, often mysterious atmosphere. Enhanced by a lm-like soundtrack, spectators are taken on a voyage into the boundless time of the prophecy.

The project’s collaborators come from different indigenous nations and artistic practices. Together, they create a unique theatrical language immersed in technology, yet anchored in secular mythology.

 

TSEKAN (2016)
Co-presentation with OFFTA, May 31, June 1 and 2, 2016 at the Monument-National (Montreal).

PRESENTED BY

AS PART OF
logo_offta-xl

 

“This year, OFFTA is drawing attention to indigenous people’s creations, most notably in Tsekan, a fantasy drama by Émilie Monnet about a spaceship that lands on Earth to remind us about the need to treat our environment with respect. Monnet and Waawaate Fobister perform to music by Cris Derksen and Geronimo Inutiq. ”
THE GAZETTE, Victor Swoboda

 

“Here, in “Tsekan” are the elaborations of (counter-) myths as alternative cosmologies to our present global Western visions of where we are, where we are going, and how we can act [… ] Necessary ceremonies in critical times. ”
DEEP CUTS, CKUT’s Art and Culture Blog, James Oscar

 

 

ORIGINAL CONCEPT AND DIRECTION: Émilie Monnet
COLLABORATION ON ARTISTIC DIRECTION: Charles Koroneho
WRITING OF SCENES: Émilie Monnet with Cris Derksen, Waawaate Fobister, Geronimo Inutiq, Charles Koroneho, Caroline Monnet and Sabrina Ratté
INTERPRETATION: Waawaate Fobister and Émilie Monnet
MUSIC AND SOUND DESIGN: Cris Derksen and Geronimo Inutiq
SOUND DESIGN (NARRATION): Alexander McSween
VIDEO DESIGN: Caroline Monnet and Sabrina Ratté
ADDITIONAL IMAGES: Sonny Assu
LIGHTING DESIGN: Gonzalo Soldi
SET DESIGN: Charles Koroneho and Émilie Monnet
COSTUME DESIGN: Swaneige Bertrand
TECHNICAL DESIGN AND VIDEO INTEGRATION: Hub Studio / Thomas Payette, Gonzalo Soldi and Hugues Caillières
TECHNICAL DIRECTION: Maxime Bouchard
PRE-RECORDED VOICES: Joy Blacksmith, Véronique Thusky, Sylvia Cloutier and Delbert Sampson
CULTURAL AND ANISHNAABEMOWIN CONSULTATION: Véronique Thusky
ILLUSTRATION: Amanda Strong

Teaser #1

Teaser #2

Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
1-3 © Gopesa Paquette, 4-5 © Joni Louka, 6-7 © Dayna Danger (photos taken in residency)

© Joni-Louka Bers

 

TSEKAN

2016
_

Et si les visions que nous pouvons avoir du Futur ne seraient-elles pas plutôt les traces d’un Passé lointain?

Nous sommes quelque part dans un futur proche. Une soucoupe volante en forme de tortue géante vient se poser sur la Terre. Nanabush, créateur de l’île de la Tortue, rappelle que les temps à venir seront critiques quant à la survie de l’espèce humaine. La prophétie anishnaabe des Sept Feux l’avait d’ailleurs prédit il y a de cela bien longtemps. Quel futur nous attend? Si futur il y a…

Tsekan s’inscrit dans un cycle de création qui a pris naissance avec la présentation de recompose, créé en 2013 dans le cadre du Festival Phénomena. Découpé en treize scènes – comme les treize lunes d’une seule année – l’espace temps de Tsekan s’inspire du cycle lunaire, et les frontières entre passé, présent et futur y sont constamment brouillées.

Alliant poésie, langues autochtones et technologies, ce spectacle offre une vision onirique des enjeux du monde d’aujourd’hui. Les projections savamment incrustées dans une scénographie ingénieuse appuient l’interprétation, plongeant le spectateur dans un univers intemporel parfois mystérieux. Soutenue par une musique « cinématographique », la pièce propose un voyage dans ce temps indé ni de la prophétie.

Les collaborateurs engagés dans ce projet proviennent de disciplines artistiques et de nations autochtones différentes. Ensemble, ils créent un langage théâtral unique, un univers à la fois technologique et ancré dans une mythologie séculaire.

 

TSEKAN (2016)
Présenté en codiffusion avec le OFFTA les 31 mai, 1er et 2 juin 2016 au Monument-National (Montréal).

UNE PRÉSENTATION DE

logo_scene_autochtone

DANS LE CADRE DU
logo_offta-xl

 

« Un spectacle extraordinaire [… ] d’une beauté impressionnante. À ne pas manquer. »
Anne-Sophie Carpentier, Oranges pressées, CIBL

 

« Si le thème abordé peut résonner en nous tous, on le comprend, il détient une ampleur toute particulière pour ses peuples, fortement attachés à la terre. On ressent la force qui unit ses peuples à leur sol et leur désarroi face à sa possible annihilation par l’homme. La projection et l’effacement progressif de noms de villages au son d’une musique tonitruante sont un des moments forts du spectacle. Impossible de rester insensible. »
Mathilde Perallat, Pieuvre.ca

 

Les productions Onishka offrent une réflexion qui se situe au-delà des mots [… ] Dans une représentation onirique, on nous présente une œuvre poétique qui utilise la technologie pour créer une ambiance troublante.
Steave Ruel, Artichaut Mag.

 

 

IDÉE ORIGINALE ET MISE EN SCÈNE : Émilie Monnet
COLLABORATION À LA MISE EN SCÈNE : Charles Koroneho
ÉCRITURE SCÉNIQUE : Émilie Monnet avec Cris Derksen, Waawaate Fobister, Geronimo Inutiq, Charles Koroneho, Caroline Monnet, Sabrina Ratté
INTERPRÉTATION : Waawaate Fobister et Émilie Monnet
CONCEPTION SONORE ET MUSICALE : Cris Derksen et Geronimo Inutiq
CONCEPTION SONORE (narration) : Alexander MacSween
CONCEPTION VIDÉO : Caroline Monnet et Sabrina Ratté
IMAGES ADDITIONNELLES : Sonny Assu
SCÉNOGRAPHIE : Charles Koroneho et Émilie Monnet
CONCEPTION LUMIÈRES : Gonzalo Soldi
CONCEPTION DES COSTUMES : Swaneige Bertrand
CONCEPTION TECHNIQUE ET INTÉGRATION VIDÉO : Hub Studio / Thomas Payette, Gonzalo Soldi et Hugues Caillières.
DIRECTION TECHNIQUE : Maxime Bouchard
VOIX ENREGISTRÉES : Joy Blacksmith, Véronique Thusky, Delbert Sampson, Sylvia Cloutier
ILLUSTRATION : Amanda Strong

Teaser #1

Teaser #2

Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
1-3 © Gopesa Paquette, 4-5 © Joni Louka, 6-7 © Dayna Danger (photos prises en résidence)