Bird Messengers
© Mélanie Elliott

 

BIRD MESSENGERS

2011
_

Bird Messengers is a captivating interdisciplinary performance by Émilie Monnet and Moe Clark, where theatre, visual projections and music transport audiences from the symbolic realm of ancestry to a contemporary, living mythology. Created during a residency at the MAI, this extraordinary performance is inspired by Aboriginal storytelling and ancestral teachings. At once a journey of discovery and transformation, Bird Messengers draws from personal encounters with the Blackfoot people of Alberta, Quebec’s Anishinabeg, and Brazil’s Tembe people as well as from interviews with Aboriginal artists and elders. Myths, dreams and prophecies intersect as a magical tale unfolds in this modern journey through time and space.

Bridging Tradition With Technology
Métis spoken word artist Moe Clark and Anishinabe actress Émilie Monnet, founders of Bird Messengers, a collective of two Aboriginal female artists, deliver a dynamic performance beyond convention. Under the keen eye of their mentor, actress and director Marie Brassard, Moe and Émilie have gathered a specialized team of collaborators. Multimedia visuals by Eric Grice (Moment Factory, Cirque du Soleil) dialogue with electro-acoustic sound manipulations from Brazilian musician Chico Correa to create a hybrid environment as the platform for storytelling. Collaged images from Ojibwe painter Glenna Matoush give authentic voice to space.

A Universal Poetic Ode
Moe Clark fuses her unique understanding of performance narrative with traditions of circle singing and spoken word to create poetic songs that resonate with the voices of the ancestors and connect with authentic purpose. Émilie Monnet aligns her theatrical experiences with a deep connection to Aboriginal cultures to imagine stories and embody narratives that speak of the importance of ancestral teachings and bridge beyond tradition.

LOJIQ AWARD
 2011
Shortly after the world premier Bird Messengers was awarded the Art/Culture Project of the Year by LOJIQ (May 2011).
Additional performances included the Talking Stick Festival (Vancouver, 2012, English show) and Vue Sur La Rélève (April, 2012, French show).

DIRECTED, WRITTEN AND PERFORMED BY Moe Clark & Emilie Monnet
ANIMATION &VISUAL PROJECTIONS Eric Grice
LIGHTING DESIGNER Alexandre Péloquin
MUSIC Chico Correa
SOUND DESIGN Moe Clark
EXTERNAL EYE Marie Brassard
TECHNICAL DIRECTOR Amélie Bourbonnais
Links
– The LOJIQ Prize
– Article in litlive.ca
– Interview at the Talking Stick Festival, Vancouver, Feb 2012

Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
© Mélanie Elliott

Bird Messengers © Mélanie Elliott

 

BIRD MESSENGERS

2011
_

Bird Messengers est un spectacle interdisciplinaire créé et interprété par Émilie Monnet et Moe Clark. Une performance saisissante où théâtre, projections et musique nous transporte d’un univers ancestral porteur de sens vers une mythologie vivante et réactualisée. Élaborée à la suite d’une résidence au MAI, cette production hors-norme s’inspire d’histoires et d’enseignements traditionnels autochtones. Voyage initiatique et quête existentielle, Bird Messengers s’abreuve aux récits des peuples Blackfoot d’Alberta, des Anishnabeg du Québec et des Tembés du Brésil. Fruit d’entretiens auprès d’artistes et d’aînés autochtones, cette première production crée un pont entre les pratiques artistiques traditionnelles et contemporaines. Dans ce parcours migratoire se dessine un conte magique des temps modernes où mythes, rêves et prophéties se rencontrent.

Au confluent des traditions et des nouvelles technologies
Formé de Moe Clark, poète métis, et d’Émilie Monnet, comédienne anishnabe, Bird Messengers, un collectif féminin d’artistes autochtones, livre un théâtre performatif, sans frontière. Sous l’œil aiguisé de leur mentor, la comédienne et la metteure en scène, Marie Brassard, le duo s’est entouré d’une solide équipe de collaborateurs. Aux projections multimédias d’Eric Grice (Moment Factory, Cirque du Soleil) s’amalgament un univers sonore inusité. Chansons traditionnelles déconstruites et combinées à des sonorités électroacoustiques conçues par le Brésilien Chico Correa font écho aux peintures scéniques de Glenna Matoush, artiste ojibwe.

Une odeur poétique universelle
Moe Clark fusionne habilement les traditionnels « chants circulaires » autochtones et le spoken word. Ses performances sonores et narratives célèbrent l’esprit des ancêtres et témoignent d’une démarche des plus authentiques. Vivement concernée par les cultures autochtones, Émilie Monnet met à contribution sa pratique théâtrale afin d’imaginer des histoires qui témoinent de la richesse des enseignements ancestraux et favorisent le rapprochement des peuples.

LOJIQ AWARD
 2011
En Mai 2011, les deux créatrices ont reçu le prix LOJIQ Art/Culture 2011 afin de souligner leur engagement à rapprocher les peuples autochtones des Amériques par le biais de la création artistique.
Bird Messengers a également été présenté en Anglais au Festival Talking Stick (Vancouver) et en Français au Festival Vue sur la relève

ÉCRIT, MIS EN SCÈNE ET INTERPRÉTÉ PAR  Moe Clark & Emilie Monnet
ANIMATION & PROJECTIONS VIDEO Eric Grice
PEINTURE Glenna Matoush
CONCEPTION D’ÉCLAIRAGES Alexandre Péloquin
MUSIQUE
 Chico Correa
CONCEPTION SONORE Moe Clark
OEIL EXTÉRIEUR Marie Brassard
COSTUMES Kim Picard
DIRECTRICE TECHNIQUE Amélie Bourbonnais
Liens
– Le prix LOJIQ
– Article dans litlive.ca
– Entrevue au Talking Stick Festival, Vancouver, Feb 2012

Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
Slide thumbnail
© Mélanie Elliott