BIO_BANNER-1100
© David Chedore

EMILIE MONNET

Interdisciplinary artist Emilie Monnet founded ONISHKA in 2011 to herald performance-based work, created from unique collaborations between artists of different cultures and disciplines. Her work experiments and creates from a place where languages, imagination and memory intersect; telling stories with theatre and media art forms that weave the symbolic realms of dreams and mythology – both personal and collective.

As actress and director, Emilie co-directed and performed Bird Messengers, for which she was awarded the LOJIQ prize for best Art/Culture project of 2011. Bird Messengers, presented in Vancouver and Montreal, was created under the guidance of Marie Brassard. In May 2012, Emilie directed the musical and theatrical performance Songs of Mourning, Songs of Life, in collaboration with the Aboriginal women’s drum group Odaya and the Rwandan traditional musical ensemble, Komezinganzo, to reflect on the imprints of genocide on Self and communities. She has two works into development: writing a play inspired by a recurrent dream of her great great-grandmother and the creation of a nomad interdisciplinary artistic laboratory with Waira Nina, an indigenous artist from the Amazon in Colombia.

A graduate of Ondinnok’s First Nations Theatre training program in partnership with the National Theatre School of Canada (Montreal, 2007), Emilie also studied media arts and holds a Masters in Peacebuilding and Conflict Resolution from Deusto University, Spain and from Uppsala University, Sweden. Her artistic engagement is inspired by years of social activism with indigenous organizations in Canada and Latin America as well as community art projects with incarcerated women and Aboriginal youth. Emilie is part Anishnaabe and French, and lives in Montreal.

BIO_BANNER-1100
© David Chedore

EMILIE MONNET

Artiste interdisciplinaire, Emilie Monnet fonde les Productions Onishka en 2011 dans le but de créer des spectacles nés de collaborations uniques entre artistes de différentes cultures et disciplines. Au croisement entre le théâtre, la performance et les arts médiatiques, sa pratique artistique puise dans la symbolique des rêves et des mythologies – personnelle et collective – pour raconter des histoires qui interrogent le monde d’aujourd’hui.

En tant qu’interprète et metteure en scène, Émilie co-crée et joue dans Bird Messengers, spectacle pour lequel elle reçoit le prix LOJIQ dans la catégorie projet Art/Culture 2011. En mai 2012, elle met en scène Chants de deuil, chants de vie, un spectacle qui examine les empreintes laissées par le génocide sur les communautés autochtones et rwandaises, en collaboration avec les chanteuses autochtones Odaya et le groupe de musique traditionnelle rwandaise Komezinganzo. Plus récemment, Émilie présentait recompose au Festival Phenomena, un spectacle interdisciplinaire sur le thème des prophéties créé en collaboration avec des artistes autochtones qui repoussent les fontières de l’art autochtone. Elle travaille actuellement sur l’écriture d’une pièce inspirée par un rêve récurrent de son arrière arrière grand-mère, ainsi que sur la création d’un laboratoire de création interdisciplinaire nomade avec Waira Nina, une artiste autochtone de l’Amazonie, en Colombie.

Diplômée en 2007 du programme d’interprétation pour autochtones offert par Ondinnok – en partenariat avec l’École nationale de théâtre du Canada (Montréal) – Émilie Monnet a étudié les arts médiatiques et obtenu une maîtrise en Études de la paix et Résolution de conflits des universités Deusto en Espagne et Uppsala en Suède. Son engagement artistique s’inspire de nombreuses années d‘activisme auprès d’organisations autochtones au Canada et en Amérique Latine ainsi que de sa participation à des projets d’art communautaire avec des femmes judiciarisées et des jeunes autochtones. De mère anishinabe et de père français, Émilie vit à Montréal.